<< back

Let's Help Jason Yarde's Crowdfunded Debut LP Project

At our gig on 5th December featuring Hexagonal, sax player Jason Yarde asked the audience to support his crowd-funding appeal for ACOUTASTiC BOMBASTiC, to help finish recording a debut LP for a 'dream team' large ensemble of musicians. When you contrbute you will be among the first to get a recording - and can choose other great merchandise options listed on their website.

You can read more and make you contribution to this great project and watch his video about this projectThere are lots of great bundles that you can choose from in making your donation, including copies of the music in various formats and goodies such as t-shirts and tote bags. "NO ORDINARY BAND-NO ORDINARY LEADER" Jazzwise.

Jason explains his dream

When I was a child (not so long ago...) I had a dream where I imagined a vast room full of musical instruments of all shapes and sizes with a handful of folks around to explore them...Through a commission from the 2005 Cheltenham Jazz Festival and the Jerwood Foundation (ok, a fairly long time ago now...) I was able to manifest the essence of this dream assembling some immensely talented multi-instrumentalists and fantastic musical friends to form a special ensemble - ACOUTASTiC BOMBASTiC (AcouBomb for short!). We have been dreaming and scheming of a way to make it more sustainable ever since.  Thanks to a grant from the PRSF and many, many favours we made some beautiful headway in recording the original commissioned suite ‘Random Wishes and Abstract Dreams’ in the summer of 2015.

Now armed with some new music and a renewed enthusiasm, we are about to finish what we started...The multi-instrumentalists joining Jason in making this music include:

SKA (Matthew Herbert/Nitin Sawney/Zero7)

MARCINA ARNOLD (Quite Sane/Bheki Mseleku/Steve Williamson)

EMMA SMITH (Elysian Quartet/Hot Chip/James Yorkston)

ELLEN BLAIR (Echo Strings/Paloma Faith/Reggae Philharmonic)

SEB ROCHFORD (Polar Bear/Sons Of Kemet/Andy Sheppard)

IVO NEAME (Phronesis/Marius Neset/Hermeto Pascoal)

ORPHY ROBINSON (Black Top/Jazz Warriors/Nigel Kennedy)

SHANTI JAYASINHA (Grand Union Orchestra/Alex Wilson/Janette Mason)

NEIL CHARLES (Terence Blanchard/Cerys Matthews/Alex Hawkins)

JULIAN SIEGEL (Partisans/John Taylor/Diane Schuur)

HARRY BROWN (Jazz Jamaica/Adele/Rudimental)

JASON YARDE (Andrew Hill/Louis Moholo Moholo/Keziah Jones)

With special guest members including...

COREY MWAMBA (New Dark Art/Evan Parker/Orphy Robinson)

DANIEL LOUIS (Panorama/Gary Trotman)

CONOR CHAPLIN (Laura Jurd/Phil Meadows/Engines Orchestra)

BENET MCLEAN (Sir Simon Rattle/Carleen Anderson/Dennis Rollins)

JASON LINDNER (Now vs Now/David Bowie/Don Mclaskin)

And, within the ranks of the ensemble lurks a Saxophone Quintet, a String Ensemble and a small Choir, that can collectively groove, float, swing and potentially travel the globe from one measure to the next. And, there are still so many combinations yet to explore...

Go on, time's running out - please contribute to this brilliant project and be among the first to hear the recorded results!

  8th December 2019 6:39pm



Please enter your details below to subscribe to our email list.