<< back

Giovanni Guidi

Born in Foligno in 1985. By attending the summer seminars of Siena, it was noticed by Enrico Rava, which places it in the group Rava Under 21, transformed later in Rava New Generation. With this group he recorded in 2006 and 2010 two CDs for the Editoriale l'Espresso. Currently, in addition to the collaboration with groups of Rava (PM Jazz Lab and Tribe), all'acclamatissimo duo "Soupstar" with Gianluca Petrella, the "Thanks For The Fire" trio with trumpeter Luca Aquino and percussionist Michael Anger, the duo "Netsuke" with Daniele Di Bonaventura on bandoneon is a leader of his own groups as the new quartet with trumpeter Mirco Rubegni, bassist Joe Rehmer and Fabrizio Sferra on drums and the trio that performs at the fender rhodes, with Joe Rehmer and Federico Scettri on drums and electronics. He has performed at major festivals: Umbria Jazz, Vicenza New Conversation, Zurich Nu Jazz, Umbria Jazz Balcanic Windows, Stavanger Never Jazz, Jazzaldia, North Sea Jazz Festival, Molde Jazz, Berlin Jazz Festival, Jazz Barcelona, ​​Warsaw Jazz Days, The Mans Festival, Portland Jazz Festival, San Francisco Jazz Festival and also in theaters and clubs in New York, Sao Paulo, Rio de Janeiro, Buenos Aires, Brasilia, Salvador de Bahia, Dublin, Paris, London, Monaco, Berlin, Seoul, Hong Kong, Tokyo, Jakarta. The first album under his own name "Tomorrow Never Knows" was published in August 06 for the Japanese label Venus and reviewed with five stars by the magazine Swing Journal. He later released four albums with the label LIVE JAZZ: the first two "Indian Summer" and "The House Behind This One" quartet, "The Unknown Rebel" with an enlarged formation to ten items and "We Do not Live Here Anymore ", recorded in New York with Gianluca Petrella, Michael Blake, Thomas Morgan and Gerald Cleaver: E 'of 2013 the first album recorded in his name for Monaco's prestigious ECM:" City of Broken Dreams "recorded in trio with Thomas Morgan and Joao Lobo. For the same label he had previously released two albums with Enrico Rava: "Tribe" and "On The Dance Floor". He then won several awards including the Top Jazz referendum organized by the magazine Musica Jazz, where he was voted by a jury of 58 journalists and music critics as the best new talent, 2007. After the release in 2015 of "This is the day "recorded in trio with Thomas Morgan and Joao Lobo, September 2, 2016 was released the new ECM album" Ida Lupino "engraved with Gianluca Petrella, Louis Sclavis and Gerald Cleaver.


Please enter your details below to subscribe to our email list.